Tenure	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Yukon and N.W.T.	Canada
	sq. miles	sq.miles	sq.mile	sq.miles	sq.miles	sq.miles
 Alienated from the Crown or in process of alienation Dominion lands other than National 	44,196	104,401	78,016	18,991	62	365,348
Parks and Indian Reserves		47 1,496	$103 \\ 20,739^3$	161	$1,455,088^{2}$ $3,625^{4}$	
 Dominion National Parks		1,490	20,7390	1,671 1,301	3,023* 9	29, 196 ¹ 8, 704
 5. Provincial lands, including leased lands and forest reserves, but not Provincial Parks		$128,468\\1,684$	147,713 12	320,25 9 16,896	Nil "	1,571,355 31,856
Totals, Land Area	219,723	237,975	248,800	359,279	1,458,784	3,462,103

1.-Classification of Lands in Canada, by Tenure, (circa) 1948-concluded

¹ Includes the Gatineau Park (25 sq. miles) and the Quebec Battlefields Park (0.36 sq. mile) which are under Dominion jurisdiction but which are not technically National Parks. ² Includes 952,849 sq. miles set aside by Order in Council as native game preserves in which only Indians and Eskimos may hunt, as game sanctuaries in which hunting and trapping is forbidden, and as reserves for reindeer grazing, but which are not regarded as National Parks. ³ Includes Wood Buffalo Park (which, although reserved by the Dominion, is not administered as a National Park) and the Tar Sands Reserve (2,068 acres). ⁴ Includes that portion of the Wood Buffalo Park in N.W.T.

Subsection 1.-Dominion Public Lands*

The public lands under the administration of the Federal Goverment comprise: lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks and National Historic Sites; Forest Experiment Stations; Experimental Farms; Indian Reserves; Ordnance and Admiralty Lands; and, in general, all lands held by the several Departments of the Federal Government for various purposes connected with Dominion administration, including the Tar Sands Reservation comprising four areas, amounting in all to 2,068 acres, in the Fort McMurray District of Alberta. The lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, formerly administered by the Federal Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the provinces concerned.

The largest areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 1,458,784 square miles or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general, the southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60°N. latitude. In Europe, the cities of Oslo, Stockholm, and Leningrad are near this line; about three-quarters of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, Finland, and a large portion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the administration of the Lands and Development Services Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order.

The Northwest Territories.—Developments in the mining industry, particularly in the Yellowknife District, accounted for much of the activity in the Northwest Territories in 1947. The wave of prospecting and staking that reached a peak in 1945 continued to show a decline, but systematic examination of ground already staked was continued and the development of promising properties planned. Gold production in the Territories was maintained, transportation facilities were improved, and many projects designed to provide better municipal and other services in Yellowknife Settlement and district were undertaken.

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, I.S.O., Director, Lands and Development Services Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, Ottawa.